KOD UK Association


We are the Committee for the Defence of Democracy (KOD UK), a grassroots organisation which established itself in reaction to outrageous actions of the current Polish president and government since 2015 elections.

Our activities reflect these of Poles back home, who stage regular street protests with the same cause. Living in the UK, and having lived back home for a number of years, we can see how a civic society can influence those in power, how an old democracy functions and how we, ordinary people, have a chance to at least try to change things back home.

Feeling strongly about the principles of the rule of law and equality of all in the obligation to act in accordance with the constitution and all other acts of law, we express our protest against limiting the human rights of Polish citizens, both native and foreign, against unlawful actions of the ruling party, against marginalising our homeland within Europe. An open attack against the principles of the country’s legal order and irresponsible spending, covered by excessive borrowing, will have increasingly serious repercussions on the politics and economy, both internally and internationally.

We welcome anyone among us, so long as you share our beliefs, regardless of your nationality, political views and who you may have voted for last year. Our protests are peaceful and arguments based on facts, and we invite those undecided to join the conversation about the future of Poland.

The objects of the Association

  1. Support the work of the Komitet Obrony Demokracji in Poland, in particular by organising rallies and campaigns in the UK in support of Polish democracy;
  2. Promote democratic values, in particular within the Polish community in the UK; and
  3. Foster dialogue about Polish and European democracy, politics and history,

Nothing in our constitution shall authorise an application of property of the Association for purposes which do not further the Objects.

Full text of our KOD UK Constitution

Committee Members

  • Mariusz Gąsior
  • Joanna GosTreasurer
  • Małgorzata Hallewell
  • Antoni Otffinowski
  • Magdalena Szabert

The Executive Members of the Association are as follows:

  • Tyla Arabas
  • Krzysztofa Balińska
  • Olimpia Mainka
  • Michał Reimer
  • Katarzyna Rembiasz